subscribe: Posts | Comments

North Fort Myers High ‘All Shook Up’ at 2024 Musical Theatre Awards


The High School Musical Theatre Awards take place at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 9 at the Barbara B Mann Performing Art Hall at FSW. Started in 2008 by Barbara Mann GM Scott Saxson, the High School Musical Theatre Awards celebrate local high school actors, orchestras, their musical productions and the hard work those students do every year. Among the eight area schools taking part in the Awards this year is North Fort Myers High School Center for the Arts.

North Fort Myers High School Center for the Arts presented All Shook Up earlier this season. The musical tells the story of a square little town in the middle of nowhere where a lonely young girl dreams of hitting the open road. Into her life rides a guitar-playin’ roustabout who changes everything and kick-starts a hip-swivelin’, lip-curlin’ musical fantasy. The musical covers the full spectrum of Elvis’ discography – from the foot-tapping rhythm of “Jailhouse Rock”, “Heartbreak Hotel”, “Burning Love”, “Blue Suede Shoes”, and “Don’t Be Cruel” to the soul-stirring ballads of “Love Me Tender.”

North Fort Myers will perform a medley from the musical at this year’s High School Musical Theatre Awards.

Under the direction of Janelle Laux, North Fort Myers High theater students receive intensive training in acting, directing, design, and technical theatre. The course of study includes opportunities in acting, voice, and diction, mime and movement, improvisation, directing and playwriting, state make-up, theatre technology, theatre history, vocal techniques, dance, musical theatre, and other classes.

Also participating in this year’s HSMTA are Bishop Verot High School, Canterbury School, Canterbury School, Cypress Lake High School, Ida S. Baker High School, Island Coast High School, Lehigh Senior High School, and Oasis High School.

May 8, 2024.

Comments are closed.